FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: MONDAY, JUNE 16, 2003

DAWAHARES/KHSAA HALL OF FAME CLASS OF 2004 INDUCTEES ANNOUNCED

LEXINGTON - Fourteen former high school coaches, athletes, officials and/or administrators make up the 17th class to be inducted into the Dawahares/KHSAA Hall of Fame. The class was announced at the annual Dawahares/KHSAA Hall of Fame golf outing held Monday at Connemara Golf Course in Nicholasville.

The class of 2004 will be inducted in æremonies scheduled for March 17, 2004 in Lexington. The induction of the 14 will bring the total number of individuals honored to 300.

The 2004 class is as follows:

Brown Badgett – Mr. Badgett is great supporter of high school athletics at Hopkins County Central and Madisonville-North Hopkins High Schools and other programs through generous financial gifts including the Brown Badgett Foundation Scholarship Fund.

Ron Cain – Cain was a successful football star at Cumberland, leading the state in scoring. He went on to coach Seneca High School in Louisville to the 1965 Class AAAA State Championship.

Ancie Casey – Mr. Casey is one of the most respected basketball officials in the state. He officiated numerous District, Region and State Tournament games, including two State Championship games. Casey continues to serve as a positive influence on basketball officiating by training officials.

Otis Dinning – Coach Dinning compiled a 541-193 coaching record at Paducah Tilghman High School, including six regional championships.

Marty Donlon – Marty Donlon has served as regional golf manager for over 35 years, including management of the Boys' State Golf Tournament. The St. Xavier boys' golf teams have won numerous team and individual titles under Coach Donlon's guidance.

Kim Hawkins – Hawkins excelled in both track and cross country for Bath County High School. She won numerous tracks and cross country titles and went on to enjoy an All-American career at the University of Kentucky.

Alvis Johnson – Johnson was a highly successful track and football coach at Harrodsburg High School. In addition, he served on the KHSAA Board of Control as well as president of the National Federation of High School Associations' Board of Directors.

Kenneth Moore – Moore played on Inez's 1954 State Basketball Championship squad. He continued his career at Eastern Kentucky University where his honors included Ohio Valley Conference Player-of-the-Year. He was later drafted by the Cincinnati Royals of the NBA.

Ben Pumphrey – In over 30 years coaching football at Paris and Nicholas County, Mr. Pumphrey compiled a 179-146-7 career record. In addition he was a highly respected track coach, winning two state titles.

Kim Mays Rose – Mays Rose was a basketball standout at Knox Central, scoring 3,952 career points and received Ms. Basketball honors in 1990. She led the state in scoring her senior year at 41.6 pointsper-game and went on to a great career at Eastern Kentucky University where she was Ohio Valley Conference Player-of-the-Year.

Evan Settle – Settle starred for Crab Orchard and later went on to coach seven regional championships in basketball at Shelbyville.

Billy Smith – Smith compiled a 306-192 coaching record in 17 years at Taylor County, including a 1963 appearance in the State Basketball Tournament. He was also an active member of the Kentucky High School Coaches Association.

Eugene Washington – Washington worked 27 years as a KHSAA wrestling official. He officiated 22 consecutive State Championship Tournaments and received Official-of-the-Year five consecutive years as presented by the Kentucky Wrestling Coaches Association.

Jim Watkins – Mr. Watkins has made countless contributions on local, district, regional, state and national level athletic administration. He has served as Director of Academics, Athletics and Activities for the Jefferson County Public Schools as well being a charter member of the Kentucky High School Athletic Directors Association. He is a former director of the state high school football playoffs and has served as director of the Louisville Invitational Basketball Tournament and an instructor in Coaches Education Program.

Two other individuals have previously been voted into the Hall of Fame but declined induction at that time. Kelly Coleman (1989) and John Reynolds (1994) have yet to accept the honor. They or their representatives would be added to the induction class in the year the honor is accepted.

-- KHSAA --

For more information, contact Butch Cope or Ken Tippett (859) 299-5472.